Braided Bantu Updo | Braids by Ebony Brown

This style was inspired by a combination of Africa’s “Bantu Knots”, Asia’s, “China Bumps” and my quest to explore a braided interpretation. From my experience and observations, Bantu Knots or China Bumps are typically sported with loose, non-braided hair. Since I almost always have braids in my hair, doing the Bantu Knots/China Bumps style the traditional way (with loose hair) wasn’t an option.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

…multiple box braids are braided together as one big braid and that one big braid is then, actually tied into a knot!

Yes, that’s a CD in my hand (above). I hardly ever wear lipstick and in this rare occasion of wanting to put it on, I didn’t have a mirror, and so the CD worked out just fine.

And so, I do realize that this photo turns out to be a total booty shot – NOT my intention, but it also allows you to see the back of my braided, bumpy, “knotty” do which is the point here. BTW, the camera isn’t a prop, I’m a photographer.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Braids by: Ebony Brown

Model: Ebony Brown

Photos by: Michael Towns

2 comments

  1. Love this! It looks awesome with all of those looks!

    1. Thank you!!! Much appreciated :)

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

